j
8 min readDec 4, 2023
starring by; kiof belle, zb1 zhanghao as zac, and kiof julie.

Seattle, 2010.

At today’s lesson, Miss Margaret told us to describe what our dream is. I’m still clueless, I can’t even think.”

“So stupid of you, Belle. Dream is simply as what you want to be or achieve in the future.”

“I’m still 6, mind you! and all I care isn’t about this but,- ah whatever. Besides, may I ask what is yours then?”

“A dream? Well, I dreamed of being a news anchor just like my father.”

“Cool, you will appear on television often.”

“Yeah I hope so, do you already have one in mind?”

The only thing that remained after that was Zac’s giggling as his both eyes were shut due to his big smile. “I look forward to it, Belle.”

Back before the conversation, it was the third day of snowing; I was waiting for someone to go back home together. Someone who I can put all of my trust on, a boy and is four years older than me – yeah what an age gap. We attended to the same primary school; it’s all my willing, I had the chance to be around him before he was going to be in high school.

Speaking of the devil, there he was walked through at me without letting go the smile stroking on his face. It made me to do so, waving my hand to him, cheerfully.

He said ‘hi’ once he’s around me, leaned down closer to me and took my hand; his fingers intertwined with mine in his coat, “it’s cold outside, let me warm you up” he reasoned. We took same steps as we headed to home.

Canada, 2019.
I turned fifteen this year, willing to started a new me in new town – I also expect some new friends, at least this didn’t sound bad at all except that one thing. I let go all of my past days back in Seattle, my hometown. The reason I dumped here was because of my father; he got transferred here as his job, and of course I had to follow him as a good daughter I am.

Two days before I left, I had this serious conversation – or I was the one who took it that way. I happened to slip those three crucial words from my mouth, yes, I confessed my love to him in the stupidest way. That night I was so emotional, I’ve never imagined being separated with him, not even once. Yet, the emotion became a burden to my shoulder and things happened.

“I know, Belle. I understand.” Zac opened his mouth.
“Wh-what.. you don’t know anything. What hap..pened with you. Forget what I said before, Zac.”
“I’m sure I understand ‘cause I also feel the same for you, you’re not the only one fall in love here. But, the thing is I can’t stand with a long distance.”
“I got it, I don’t have the intention to dating someone right now, though. I’m –“
“Comeback to me, Belle. Say “comeback to me, Zac” once you meet me back to Seattle, and I’ll come to you.”

My head went blank that night, how couldn’t I noticed that he was also in love with me. So, all I did was nodded and said, “yeah, so will i.”

Seattle, 2022.
I decided to spend my summer in Seattle after always spent one in Canada for three year – boring. Oh, yeah, I was not a senior student anymore. I’ve graduated with an excellent score, I was not the stupid Belle Zac used to know back then. Talking about Zac, he’s gonna be here, at the airport; he wholeheartedly willing to pick me up just like the old innocent days.

However, I was having a hard time about what should I do next. I got accepted in one of best University in Canada with a full scholarship, but, I had this thing inside of me – my love for Zac, along this time. I would gave that chance up once I asked him to comeback to me, I won’t take any longer to be separated, again. So, I was back to Seattle to make sure of something, that, things will work for both of us.

|Comeback to me, Zac.

As I stepped in the Arrival area, my eyes caught on the appearance of the boy, no, already a grown up man. I doubled up my steps just to saw him standing a few feets away and watched him with a tiny half-smile.
“You’re here.” He said as I shrug to his embrace, hid my face onto his chest.
“Yeah, Zac, I’m back.”

One year later, Seattle.
I cannot believe today is the day, lots of flowers decoration across the room; white and silver dominate, one of my favorite colors. An honorable mention goes to the orchestra for the aesthetically pleasing instrument which gives calming yet luxury feel to the crowded room.
I’m heading forward to the room as I heard the mc shout “please welcome the bride” and round of applause comes after that. The aisle, it gives me shiver, all I can do is giving my best smile.

Everything inside the room is going fine. I look at the priest who is going to say the wedding vow for the groom and bride to followed, he first take lead for the groom,

“I, Zac, take you,-”
No, dizziness, why would you come at time likes this?
“…in sickness and health,-“
I didn’t get to hear those wedding vow clearly, my head, damn I couldn’t even breath properly.
“..the days of my life.”
Thought I was in full preparation for today.

One year ago, at the airport.
“Yeah, Zac, I’m back.”

I was getting too comfortable in Zac’s embrace not until I heard a voice from behind,
“You must be Belle, right?”

Her voice, a raspy one wrapped in warm tone. Is she even a human? Oh, forget about that, Belle, so I pulled myself away from the hug and got the chance to respond her question earlier.
“Yeah, I’m Belle, and you are?” I’m asking her, well, this female in front of me is actually shorter than me.

“I’m Julie, Zac told me a lot of things about you so I got curious, and he also told me today you’re getting off here, so basically I’m here to meet you. I could say you’re prettier than Zac ever described you as.”

She got me chuckled, I could never imagine someone as warm as she is got a lot to say, I thought she is a quiet one. Thus, I thanked her and thought I should owe her a treat as a friendship one cause she looked fun to be with. But, Zac owe me more,

an explanation.

Present, Seattle.
“I now pronounce you partners for life. You may now kiss each other.”
It is the first thing I heard after collapsed down for a while, I happened to turn my head over the married couple standing away. It’s now Zac and Julie have their kissing momentum as a seal of their wedding, finally, they’re getting married.
...
“You came, Belle.” Said that man as he saw I walked through the aisle, it was never mine.
Ignoring the sound of Zac, I’m taking few steps closer to Julie and hug her tightly,

“Wishing you a lifetime of wedded bliss, Julie. I’m so happy for you” tightening the hug even more.
“How sweet of you, Belle. I didn’t think you could make it here.”
“I can make my time for you, it’s not a big deal after all.” The hug is loosening due to another person interrupted our doing.
“What do you want, Zac? Just so you know, I’m all here not because of you.”
“Yeah, I know. I understand. Everything”

…“I know, Belle. I understand.” Dejavu.

‘What is this man even thinking he understand? He did not at the very first place. He would make things work between us if he did.’

“You sure join the after party, Belle. We’ll waiting for you.” It’s Julie talking.

Should I come?

And so I said my goodbyes and leave after that. Leaving my first love, the memories, my hometown. I don’t ever think that Zac and Seattle will give lots of pains, thanks to him.

Epilogue; Seattle, 2022.

I was on my way back home from airport with Zac, just the two of us in his car; me in the backseat of course, we dropped Julie home just earlier. There, it was the chance to make things clear.

“Zac.” I started, got a hum way back as answer.

“Mind to explain? Who that Julie girl actually is?”

Guilty. I’ve never seen Zac being guilty like this, even once. But then he started to open his mouth which I wish I could not ever heard.

“We attended same college 3 years ago and I met her in a organization. As I often met her there, we started to talk and realized we have a lot of things in common. As much as we spent days together, there’s thing grow, a bond we called. We just started dating 1 year after.”

Zac got a girlfriend, and she was not me. I can’t help it but tears streamed down my face as I tried so hard not to sob. I brought my head sight eyeing the night view of Seattle, avoided Zac’s eyes in the mirror.

“Why don’t you ever told me then? I would have congratulate you both ever before this. You left me clueless hours ago. I was so stupid to think she’s just your friend.”

“I don’t want to hurt y,-”

“ And do you think I’ll not get hurted by this way? Letting me go face your girlfriend while I clearly have feelings toward you? Is that so, Mr.Zac? Seriously, can you ever think properly? Use your so-called-genius brain.” I was all but yelled. No longer look outside the car, anger is all I was about, brave enough to met his eyes.

Zac stopped his car at the side of the road. I was the first to say a thing way before he was about to say something, “You said you would’ve comeback to me once I said comeback to me. I thought today is going to be that day, Zac.” I said quietly, sobbing so hard.

“I’m sorry. Put all the blame on me, Belle. I truly deserve that. I’m sorry. I love her. B-but I do love you too. It just happened to be that way. I’m sorry.”

“Don’t ever really sorry for the things you can’t control, I can’t blame you for being in love with someone. If anything, I’m the foolish one here thinking you love me just the way I do.”

“I’m tired please drive back the car.”

That night was the first time I ashamed for mistook Zac as the only person I trust even my parents. He never had the intention to comeback to me, he let me go with my dream hang on; he did not looking forward to it. The only dream that I had when I was 6, the untold one.

A damn traitor he is.

Unlisted